Courses

We aim to explain the theory, but most of the learning will be by hands on making. Our courses are aimed at beginners unless otherwise stated. There is no need to have prior knowledge or experience. 

crudites

Lactic Fermentation (Sauerkraut, Kimchi and Preserved Lemons)

Multiple sessions available from Sun 1 Dec 2019 to Sun 26 Apr 2020

Multiple venues

An in-depth introduction into everything you need to know about lactic fermentation techniques.

Mexican salsa

Cultured Condiments

Multiple sessions available from Sun 1 Dec 2019 to Sun 5 Apr 2020

Gnome House, 7 Blackhorse Lane, Walthamstow, London, E17 6DS, United Kingdom

A journey of discovery into the fermented origins of condiments.

Sourdough Bread for Beginners

Sourdough Bread for Beginners

Multiple sessions available from Sun 8 Dec 2019 to Sat 28 Mar 2020

Multiple venues

Using sourdough culture is an ancient method of making bread.

Milk Kefir grains

Dairy Ferments (Milk Kefir, Live Culture Butter, Cottage Cheese and Yoghurt)

Multiple sessions available from Sun 8 Dec 2019 to Sun 29 Mar 2020

Gnome House, 7 Blackhorse Lane, Walthamstow, London, E17 6DS, United Kingdom

An introduction to the world of dairy ferments.

Kombucha (First brews, Secondary Ferments and more)

Kombucha (First brews, Secondary Ferments and more)

Multiple sessions available from Sun 12 Jan 2020 to Sun 15 Mar 2020

Multiple venues

Buckwheat Sourdough

Gluten Free Sourdough

Multiple sessions available from Sun 26 Jan 2020 to Sun 22 Mar 2020

Multiple venues

An introduction to the methods of gluten free sourdough bread baking. We look at the different flours which can be used, how to make and maintain starters and how to avoid unnatural additives.

tepache

Soft Fermented Drinks (Water Kefir, Ginger Beer and more)

Multiple sessions available from Sun 1 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020

Gnome House, 7 Blackhorse Lane, Walthamstow, London, London, E17 6DS, United Kingdom

An in-depth introduction into everything you need to know about fermented soft drinks.

Fermentation Made Easy - Lactic Fermentation (Brecon)

Fermentation Made Easy - Lactic Fermentation (Brecon)

Wed 25 Mar 202010:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Multiple venues

Learn how to use lactic fermentation to create live culture food.